I knew what I was getting into.
I knew that being a stay at home mom meant just that.
I knew K would be with me all day until my husband got home.
I knew I'd be the only one waking up with her in the middle of the night.
But man is my boss in charge.
I guess you don't know what it's like to be on call 24/7 for a little person who can't talk until you are...
She dictates my entire life.
When I can sleep.
When I can pee.
When I can eat.
When I can go to the store.
I serve her all day long every day.
She can't change her own diaper.
She can't feed herself.
She can't even lift her head for that long right now.
She needs me. To do everything but poop.
She has pooping on her own down.
I have gained a huge amount of respect for moms and dads in the last 3 weeks.
I knew the job was hard.
I didn't know it was this hard.
I no longer have an ounce of judgement in my body for the mom at the store who looks like she hasn't showered in days.
Because I forget to brush my teeth almost every morning (sorry dr.)
I find myself sniffing my arm pits to see if I remembered deodorant that morning (usually its a negative).
I don't normally shower until the husband comes home.. unless I can squeeze it in during her first nap of the day.
I find myself smiling at the dad who took the kids to the grocery store all by himself because that means his wife is somewhere relaxing (I hope). Even if his kids are screaming and begging for mom. He's a good dad.
This job is the hardest job I have ever had. I am overwhelmed at times... but most the time my heart is so full. I am so thankful. And I feel so utterly blessed.
I like my new title. Mom.
I think it fits.
I remember learning all of this with Holland. There's really no way to know what it's like until you have your baby. It's so different than babysitting, nannying, and having younger siblings. But it is so worth it. That's something that can't be adequately described either. It's the best!
ReplyDeleteOne of my daughters (who shall remain nameless) once said in a quiz about what she knew about me that I loved to get up early. She just didn't know it was survival, because that was the only way I got a shower in was if my hubby was still there before work to watch the kiddos. You have an even bigger challenge, because your hubby goes to work REALLY early. I love your new title too, and it definitely fits!
ReplyDeleteIf I wanted a shower I would have to get up at 3 am to shower because she wakes up around 4 to eat. Then by 5 he is awake. Lately she has been wide awake at 530 so I just let her stay up and that usually means I have been up since 4.
Delete